Cut off with a shilling

The will of Peter Hobbs – 1738

This will is in our possession and gives an indication of the use of a will for family history research. Peter Hobbs names children and his wife. The children each got a shilling (5p). That would be worth something between £7.50 and £150 today depending on just what you based it on.

Here’s the will. We have done our best to transcribe it below.

The will of Peter Hobbs of Market Lavington

The will of Peter Hobbs of Market Lavington

In the name of God Amen I Peter Hobbs of Market Lavington in the County of Wilts being weak in body but of sound and perfect mind and memory praise therefore be given to Almighty God for it do ordain this my last will and testament in manner and form following First my will is that all my debts and funeral charges shall be paid and discharged by my ???? as after named. Item I give and bequeath unto my loving daughter Martha Blagdon the sum of one shilling to be paid unto him in six months after my decease. Item I give and bequeath unto my dear and loving son Joseph Hobbs the sum of one shilling to be paid unto him in six months after my decease. Item I give and bequeath unto my loving daughter Mary Hobbs the sum of one shilling to be paid unto him in six months after my decease. Item I give and bequeath unto my son Benjamin Hobbs the sum of one shilling to be paid unto him in six months after my decease. Item I give and bequeath unto my dear son John Hobbs the sum of one shilling to be paid unto him in six months after my decease. Item I give and bequeath unto my dear and loving wife Emm Hobbs all the rest and residue of my goods chattels premises here unto me owning or belonging which ??? my full whole and sole ??????? to all these premises hereunto belonging these

In witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and seal the eighth of December in the 9th year of our reign of sovereign Lord George the second by the grace of God King of Great Britain France Ireland King defender of the faith in the year of our lord one thousand seven hundred thirty six. The mark of Peter Hobbs signed sealed and delivered in the presence of us Witness William Sloper John Bewly.

The remainder of the document tells us about the proving of the will.

Tags: , ,

Can you add anything to this or do you want to know more?

